Born Again Vegan

I’m back after a long while away – revived as a Born Again Vegan. Veganism is a lifestyle choice but for me it doesn’t seem to be much of a choice really – it’s more about the fact that when living my life, all the choices I make seem to be limited in so many ways. I have no desire to continue to contribute to the capitalist machine and yet I must. And at the same time, I know that my money is used to perpetuate suffering and the rape of the planet. So I guess I am trying in my own small way to make some changes to the world by not buying into as much of the crap as I used to. This is something worth thinking about. I always comforted myself that I was making a difference in the world, looking after the sick and vulnerable, and fighting for women’s health and wellbeing. But it’s not enough. I thought that by writing my books I could raise people’s awareness, challenge them and make them see the world through different perspectives. But getting published is a nightmare and means buying into the capitalist machine again. Not that I won’t keep trying. This blog is a space to write about the other stuff.

Being Vegan is an economical choice for me as well. I know it’s not for everyone. But it’s a lot cheaper than eating rubbish, and vegetables go a very long way if you know how to cook them! So in this blog I’ll also be posting my recipes as I go along, and thinking about food and how we eat and what it says about our values.

Yesterday I made a hearty autumn stew – I sauteed onions, leeks, shredded cabbage, sweet potato, carrot and parsnip in oil, added boiling water, added carrots, swede, potatoes, lentils, two different kinds of cooked beans (gungo peas and cannelini beans), fresh parsley and fresh basil. I also added a stock cube and some pepper and dried mixed herbs, and topped up the water when needed. I let it cook for over an hour and then added some seasoning. It was delicious. The broth thickened nicely and the whole thing was very comforting. I made a large amount – three dinners, my lunch today, and four large portions in the freezer. This means that I have an instant meal ready for a cold autumn evening when I don’t have time to cook.

I am writing too. Not just writing about food and being vegan – I have the final draft of my PhD novel to tweak, and I have my new project already started – but I’m not spilling the beans here yet!

At last. I am blogging. This is my blog. This is my life.  These are my thoughts.

About alyseinion

Novelist and Writer, midwife, Associate Professor, mother, vegan, pagan.... the list goes on.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

